Arthur Masuaku handed first DR Congo call-up

West Ham defender Arthur Masuaku Michael Regan/Getty Images

West Ham United left-back Arthur Masuaku has been handed his maiden call-up for the Democratic Republic of Congo after being included in Florent Ibenge's 36-man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Tunisia.

The Leopards travel to Rades to face the North African heavyweights on September 1, before the two meet for the return match in Kinshasa four days later.

Congo currently lead Group A on six points, with a goal difference of plus five, while the Eagles of Carthage are level on points with the Central Africans but with a goal difference of plus three.

Ibenge has been proactive in recruiting players from the Congolese diaspora over the last 18 months, with Masuaku, a former France youth international, the latest in a long string of players born in Europe to be integrated into the national team setup.

The wideman began his senior career with Valenciennes before moving to Olympiakos in 2014. He joined the Hammers last summer in a £6.2 million deal, but the 23-year-old didn't wholly convince during his maiden campaign in England.

According to BBC Sport, four other new boys have been called up by Ibenge, with Masuaku joined by former Newcastle United wideman Kevin Mbabu - currently with Young Boys Berne - and Tanguy Ndombele of Amiens.

Chadrac Akolo, who joined VfB Stuttgart from FC Sion this window, has also been included alongside Padou Bompunga of AS Vita Club.

Complete DR Congo squad vs. Tunisia

Goalkeepers: Joel Kiasumbua (FC Lugano, Switzerland), Nicaisse Kudimbana (Union Saint-Gilles, Belgium), Ley Matampi (TP Mazembe Englebert)

Defenders: Yannick Bangala, Padou Bompunga (both AS Vita Club), Jordan Ikoko (En Avant Guingamp, France), Arnold Issoko (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal), Christian Luyindama (Standard Liège, Belgium), Arthur Masuaku (West Ham United, England), Kevin Mbabu (Young Boys Berne, Switzerland), Issama Mpeko (TP Mazembe Englebert), Glody Ngonda (AS Vita Club), Fabrice Nsakala (Alanyasport, Turkey), Vital Nsimba (Bourg-en-Bresse, France), Marcel Tisserand (FC Ingolstadt, Germany), Gabriel Zakuani (Gillingham, England)

Midfielders: Chadrac Akolo (VfB Stuttgart, Germany), Merville Bokadi (Standard Liège, Belgium), Neekens Kebano (Fulham, England), Jacques Maghoma (Birmingham City, England), Chancel Mbemba (Newcastle United, England), Wilfred Moke (Konyaspor, Turkey), Remi Mulumba (Gazelec Ajaccio, France), Tanguy Ndombele (Amiens, France), Yeni Ngbakoto (Queens Park Rangers, England)

Forwards: Benik Afobe (Bournemouth, England), Britt Assombalonga (Middlesbrough, England), Jeremy Bokila (CFR Cluj, Romania), Jonathan Bolingi (Royal Excel Mouscron, Belgium), Cédric Bakambu (Villarreal, Spain), Jordan Botaka (St Truiden, Belgium), Junior Kabananga (FC Astana, Kazakhstan), Elias Kachunga (Huddersfield Town, England), Gael Kakuta (Amiens, France), Paul-José Mpoku (Standard Liège, Belgium), Firmin Mubele (Stade Rennes, France).