Ablett to debut but Dusty declines International Rules invite

Gary Ablett will make his International Rules debut in a star-studded squad set to face Ireland but Dustin Martin has turned down the chance to represent his country.

Eight-time All-Australian Ablett, who is poised to leave Gold Coast for Geelong during the AFL trade period, joined fellow Brownlow Medal winners Patrick Dangerfield and Nat Fyfe in the 17-man squad.

Reigning Brownlow and Norm Smith medallist Martin declined an invitation to play in November's two-Test home series, having led Richmond to a drought-breaking premiership.

AUSTRALIA'S 2017 INTERNATIONAL RULES SQUAD: Gary Ablett, Eddie Betts, Travis Boak, Shaun Burgoyne, Patrick Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe, Brendon Goddard, Toby Greene, Michael Hibberd, Rory Laird, Zac Merrett, Scott Pendlebury, Paddy Ryder, Joel Selwood, Rory Sloane, Chad Wingard, Dayne Zorko.